h1

Book Club

January 12, 2011

Ever since I was a child, I have always loved a good book. I have memories as a child of joining the local library’s reading club each summer, just to get the medal at the end for reading so many books. I would sometimes count the number of books I could read on that two month break from school kind of like a competition with myself.

As I grew up, I got a full time job along with many friends and commitments, I found it hard to make time to read. Enter book club, where I have to read at least one book each month! A friend of mine invited me, and I am so glad she did! We have read some great books over the past few months, and I have suddenly found time to read again. On my break at work, when I’m home, I even read at my boyfriend’s the other day while he watched tv! Being in a book club has reminded me how much I love reading.

Now, all I need to do is dress up all cute and sit on an old fashioned couch reading and I would be happy for life!!! Or be like these super cute kids….

The book we chose to read this month is called The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Let me just say, I read this book in one week while working a full time job and getting around 6-8 hours of sleep each night. It hooked me, and I didn’t think it would. I became consumed by the characters and the story. If you read one book this year, it should be The Hunger Games. It’s a teen fiction novel, so it’s short but interesting still to an adult audience. The best part is, it’s a trilogy.  So if you like the first one, you can keep reading. Or you can end where the book ends and be happy with the story as it is. I’m seriously considering buying the trilogy set so I have all three to lend out if any of my friends like it.

The next book I’m going to read also happens to be a trilogy. I heard The Girl With The Dragon tattoo is also good……..

Leave a Reply

