h1

Book Club

August 29, 2011

(Photo via Pinterest)

For the past year, I have not only been part of a book club,but I have made time again for one of my favorite pass times; reading a good book!

I read a lot when I was younger, preferring novels over textbooks even. However as my career took over, and I started making more time for friends, I kind of abandoned reading. Then a good friend of mine invited me to a book club. It was fairly casual, meeting up with other girls over wine and snacks, chatting about the book and anything we felt like. At first I was unsure how I could fit reading a novel into my daily routine, but it was surprisingly easy.

A good book hooks you, and you never want to put it down. Over the last year, I was reading books on my break, when I got home from work, on planes, and I even found myself reading while my boyfriend watched tv (hello, it was the Hunger Games, I couldn’t put that series down!). I can’t believe it’s already been a year, but I’m so glad my friend invited me. I couldn’t imagine not having a book in my purse at all times now!

I’m also glad that I joined this book club, because I read some really great books I may not have picked up on my own. They range from gripping teen fiction, to autobiographies, and some hard hitting subjects. If you’re interested, I’ve created a list of our books:

“How I live now” by Meg Rosoff

“The Middle Place”  by Kelly Corrigan

“Infidel” by Ayaan hirsi ali

“The Giver” by Lois Lowry

“The Hunger Games” by Suzzanne Collins

“The Lovely Bones”by Alice Sebold

“Freakonomics” by Steven D. Levitt

“The Poisonwood Bible” by Barbara Kingsolver

“My stroke of insight” by Jill Bolt Taylor

“Anna and the French Kiss” by stephanie perkins

“Intensity” by Dean Koontz

“The Help” by Kathryn Stockett

The next book we are reading is “Divergent” by Veronica Roth. If you want to join along with our book club, I would love to hear your comments about the books! Even if you are just looking for a good book to read, pick one off the list. I guarantee you will be ale to find a book that interests you!

Leave a comment